Getting the word out

You would think that writing and publishing a novel is the hard part. Well, to be honest, it isn’t.

Once your book goes up for sale, you then have to put in a lot of effort to get people to buy it, which is a lot easier said than done. I feel that if you do at least one little thing each day to promote your efforts, this will build up over time and create sales in the future. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

So, this weekend, I have set up a Twitter account (with a massive following of 1 as I write this!) which can be found @djnashfiction

I have not really ever gotten into Twitter all that much, but anything extra I can do to promote my novel has to be worth it, right?

I have also submitted my novel for review at a couple of review sites. I am waiting to hear back from them to see if they will consider me. I don’t expect to hear from them that quickly, as I am sure they get dozens of requests a week.

Also this weekend, I have ponied up $25 for a 1 day feature on the World Literary Café site at http://www.worldliterarycafe.com . This site looks pretty popular, so I hope to gain some interest from it when they run the ad. I have chosen either 24th 28th or 29th September as my preferred dates. If that goes well, then I will plan a more co-ordinated campaign with them later in the year once I have a few more reviews.

Leave a Reply

