REVIEW: Pompomberry House

Pompomberry House by Rosen Trevithick is a novel that I found both very enjoyable and very annoying at the same time. The style of writing is very smooth and easy to read, something that is a big plus for me. The story itself works very well and the narrative flows smoothly from start to finish. Rosen weaves a tale that is full of twists and turns, one that keeps you guessing right up until the final few chapters. However, I did find the constant “seagull” motif that repeats itself throughout the novel, particularly the first half, very irritating. That said, there was nothing in this novel that should put anyone off from reading it.

Many of the main characters are meant to be really dislikeable but I also found that I didn’t like the main protagonist, Dee, either. Don’t get me wrong, she is a well-developed, flawed and believable character, but if I knew her in real life I would not like her much.

Technically speaking, I enjoyed the writing style very much, although I would have liked to have seen some of the longer dialogues broken up a little more as occasionally I found myself having to re-read conversations to follow who said what.

Overall, this is a very good novel from a very good author. I hope she continues to produce high quality work such as this.

Leave a Reply

