Hugh Howey

I mentioned this American author on KUF forum today and straight away several people said they had never heard of him. This isn’t completely surprising as, whilst he has gained popularity over the last few months in America, his name is only now just starting to get mentioned over on this side of the pond.

Hugh is a self-published author. He has several titles out such as Molly Fyde and I, Zombie, but it was his dystopian sci-fi “Wool” series that has been his most successful series to date. It started out as a short story, but after many positive reviews and plenty of “word of mouth” exposure, he was motivated to continue the series.

Late last year, he entered into discussions regarding a “traditional” publishing deal, and in that process turned down one or two “seven-figure deals” on the basis the terms were not favourable enough, not just for him, but for Indies in general. Eventually, he struck a deal with Simon & Schuster where he kept control of the eBook rights. You can read more about the deal here on his blog.

Not only has he a publishing deal, the rights to the movie film have been picked up by Ridley Scott (yes, the real one) and according to this article is already in production. The same article touts Hugh as this year’s E L James; the latest “Indie author done good” story. He has just spent the last week here in the UK promoting Wool to all and sundry (including a spot on Simon Mayo’s show). So expect to hear many more mentions of this guy over the coming months.

Have I read Wool yet? In a word, no. I am trying to though. I have the sample and have read the first bit, but due to life getting in the way I haven’t been able to “get into it”. What I have read so far is very well written, and I hope I will be motivated enough to read through the rest of it in the coming months. The trouble is, I am not much of a sci-fi reader. I like to see my sci-fi on screen, rather than on the page (digital or otherwise). Don’t let my struggle with it put you off. I know it’s a good book (and yes, I know it’s a bit pricey over here in the UK at £5.39), but if you are a fan of sci-fi, then I doubt you will be disappointed with this one.

On Amazon (US) it has 3821 reviews at the time of writing this. 3212 of these are the full 5 stars(!) and only thirty 1 star reviews. That in itself is reason enough to take a look at this book.

Leave a Reply

